Fourth Wing Book 3 Release Date and Plot Details

Scott Daly

Rebecca Yarros has captured readers’ hearts with her Empyrean Series, and fans are eagerly waiting for the third book, “Onyx Storm”. Releasing on January 21, 2025, “Onyx Storm” promises to continue the thrilling adventures of Violet, Dain, and Xaden in a world filled with dragons and intricate politics.

The previous books, “Fourth Wing” and “Iron Flame,” set the stage for epic battles and rich character development in a war college for dragon riders. This latest installment is set to explore Violet’s growing powers and her complex relationship with Xaden, providing more insight into the magical and political landscape of the Empyrean universe.

As anticipation builds, readers can expect deep dives into the challenges Violet faces, including deadly enemies and hidden secrets. Those who have followed her journey so far will be thrilled by the new dynamics and challenges introduced in “Onyx Storm”.

The Empyrean Saga Continues: Onyx Storm on the Horizon

Release Date

Fans eagerly await the third installment in the Empyrean series, “Onyx Storm.” Mark your calendars for January 21, 2025,as this is the official release date announced by author Rebecca Yarros.

Plot Teasers

While specific plot details remain shrouded in mystery, Yarros has hinted at what’s to come. Expect political intrigue, new adventures, familiar foes, and of course, dragons. The title itself, “Onyx Storm,” suggests a darker turn in the story,potentially involving conflict and upheaval.

Unanswered Questions

“Iron Flame,” the second book, left readers with burning questions. What will become of Violet and Xaden’s relationship?Will the threat of the Vultures be quelled? How will the political landscape of Navarre shift? “Onyx Storm” promises to address these questions and introduce new challenges for the characters.

A Bittersweet Wait

While the wait for “Onyx Storm” may seem long, Yarros assures fans that it’s for a good cause. She’s taking a bit more time to prioritize her health, ensuring she can deliver a fulfilling conclusion to the Empyrean saga.


Book TitleOnyx Storm
SeriesEmpyrean (#3)
AuthorRebecca Yarros
Release DateJanuary 21, 2025
Pre-orderAvailable now at major bookstores

Key Takeaways

  • “Onyx Storm” will release on January 21, 2025.
  • The book explores Violet’s powers and her relationship with Xaden.
  • It continues the adventures in a dragon-filled fantasy world.

Plot and Characters

“Fourth Wing” book 3 brings new adventures and deepens the connections between characters while expanding on the fantastical world of Navarre.

Characters’ Evolution and Dynamics

Violet Sorrengail grows significantly in this installment. Initially forced to give up her dream of becoming a scribe, she now embraces her role as an elite dragon rider. Her relationship with Xaden Riorson evolves, adding layers to their dynamic.

Xaden, whose father’s past actions shadow his every move, grapples with his loyalty and feelings. Their interactions reveal the tension and trust slowly building between them. Readers also see major changes in secondary characters, who add depth to the story and the Dragon Riders’ community.

Fantasy Elements and World Building

Navarre expands through detailed descriptions of landscapes and intricate dragon lore. New dragons, like Tairn, play crucial roles, adding both mystery and danger. The magic system gets more complex with new revelations about Dragon Riders’ abilities and their connections to the dragons.

The mythical creatures and their unique traits bring the world to life. The vivid settings, from the rugged mountains to the expansive skies, provide a vivid backdrop for the high-stakes scenarios. Intriguing historical insights about Navarre and its past conflicts are explored, adding richness to the narrative.

Narrative Structure and Themes

The story uses a well-paced structure, balancing action sequences with emotional moments. Themes of courage, loyalty, and destiny are central. Violet’s internal struggles contrast with external battles, highlighting her growth and resilience.

Xaden’s conflict between past and present drives much of the tension, creating a layered narrative. The book also tackles themes of forgiveness and redemption, particularly through the backstory of the dragon riders and their history. This mix of personal and epic challenges keeps the reader engaged and invested in the characters’ journeys.

Publishing and Reception

Rebecca Yarros announced that the third book in her Empyrean Series, titled Onyx Storm, will be released on January 21, 2025. The book’s announcement was met with significant excitement from fans and critics alike.

Release and Availability

Onyx Storm will be available for pre-order on various platforms, including Amazon. Red Tower Books, known for publishing Yarros’ previous works like Iron Flame, will manage the publication. The release date was confirmed as January 21, 2025, generating plenty of anticipation. Booktok has been buzzing with pre-release discussions, and many expect the book to perform well in both digital and print formats.

Critical Acclaim and Audience Reaction

Early reviews from advanced readers suggest that Onyx Storm is likely to receive critical acclaim. Platforms such as Entertainment Weekly and Variety have hinted at its strong narrative and engaging characters. The audience reaction on social media has been overwhelmingly positive, with fans eagerly sharing their excitement. The book’s predecessor, Iron Flame, set high expectations, and Onyx Storm appears to be meeting them. Online communities like Booktok are already planning discussions and reviews. With Outlier Society and Amazon MGM Studios showing interest, the book is poised for a significant impact on its release.