In What Order Are the Valhalla DLCs Meant to Be Played: A Guide to Proper Sequence

Jonathan Kao

Assassin's Creed Valhalla Logo

In Assassin’s Creed Valhalla you guide Eivor through Ubisoft’s rich and expansive story. But while playing you might wonder about the additional content that comes with the DLCs. The game offers a main story that can take upwards of 60 hours to complete. After finishing the main story, players can play the downloadable content that deepens the narrative and introduces new challenges.

Most players agree that tackling the DLCs after completing the main storyline is the best approach. This allows for a natural transition from the base game to the expanded content. It’s important to experience the major story arcs before diving into the extra material for the smoothest gameplay experience and a narrative flow that aligns with Eivor’s journey.

Assassin’s Creed Valhalla DLC Order: A Player’s Guide

The Technical Order: They’re Flexible!

Technically, you can play the Assassin’s Creed Valhalla DLCs (Downloadable Content) in any order you like. Ubisoft designed them to be stand-alone adventures, so you won’t miss out on major plot points if you don’t follow a specific sequence.

The Recommended Order: Enhancing the Story

While the DLCs are independent, playing them in a specific order can enhance your overall experience and understanding of the story. Here’s the recommended order:

  1. Wrath of the Druids: This DLC takes place after the main story’s conclusion, following Eivor as they journey to Ireland to uncover a druid conspiracy. It introduces new characters, settings, and gameplay mechanics.
  2. The Siege of Paris: This DLC picks up after Wrath of the Druids and involves Eivor’s involvement in the Frankish civil war. It features a new region to explore, new historical figures to interact with, and a focus on stealth and infiltration.
  3. Dawn of Ragnarök: This expansion is a much larger adventure than the previous DLCs and delves into Norse mythology. It’s recommended to play it last as it assumes you’ve completed the main story and previous DLCs to fully grasp the narrative and character development.

Table Summarizing the Recommended Order

DLCSuggested Play OrderStory Focus
Wrath of the Druids1Eivor’s journey to Ireland to uncover a druid conspiracy.
The Siege of Paris2Eivor’s involvement in the Frankish civil war and exploration of Francia.
Dawn of Ragnarök3Eivor’s journey through Norse mythology and confrontation with powerful foes.

Additional Tips

  • Level Recommendations: Each DLC has a suggested level for players to start. Ensure you’re adequately leveled up before embarking on each adventure to avoid unnecessary challenges.
  • Crossover Stories: Assassin’s Creed Valhalla also features crossover stories with Assassin’s Creed Odyssey and Assassin’s Creed Origins. These can be played independently and don’t affect the main storyline or DLCs.

Remember, the choice of how to play the DLCs ultimately depends on your preferences. Whether you follow the recommended order or forge your own path, you’re sure to enjoy the rich and diverse experiences that each DLC offers.

Varying Opinions

Opinions are all over the place when it comes to the DLC order. While the table above shows the consensus order, that’s not the only opinion. Here’s some other opinions:

Consensus DLC Play Order

General Recommendations

  • Wrath of the Druids and Siege of Paris can be played anytime as they don’t affect the base story significantly.
  • Dawn of Ragnarok should be played after completing the base game’s mythological arcs.
  • Forgotten Saga should be played after Dawn of Ragnarok.
  • The Last Chapter is recommended to be played last as it concludes Eivor’s story.

Alternate Paths Explained

Path #1
  • Wrath of the Druids and Siege of Paris: Play at any point.
  • Dawn of Ragnarok: Play after the base game’s mythological arcs.
  • Forgotten Saga: Play after Dawn of Ragnarok.
  • The Last Chapter: Play last for a satisfying conclusion to Eivor’s story.
Path #2
  • Base Game: Complete first, incorporating River Raids and Valka hut quests (Asgard/Odin quests) as preferred.
  • Wrath of the Druids and Siege of Paris: Play at any point during or after the base game.
  • Final Chapter: Complete before starting Dawn of Ragnarok.
  • Dawn of Ragnarok: Complete last, ensuring all other quests, including the Final Chapter, are finished.
Path #3
  • Wrath of the Druids: Play first.
  • Siege of Paris: Play second.
  • Dawn of Ragnarok: Play third for a balanced difficulty progression.
  • Highest Difficulty: For a challenging experience, stick to the release order and maximum difficulty settings.

Gameplay Tips

  • Level Scaling: Enable to match enemy levels to prevent overpowered gameplay.
  • Quests: Focus on completing all quests for a richer experience; side quests offer well-written content.
  • Performance: High-end PCs provide the best experience, but PS5 is also a good option.

Choose whichever path interests you the most and realize that whatever order you pick will be fun to play because the challenges will be different.

Key Takeaways

  • Eivor’s journey in Assassin’s Creed Valhalla is expanded through DLCs.
  • The main storyline should be completed before starting the DLC content.
  • Starting DLCs post-main story ensures narrative coherence.

Valhalla DLC Release Order and Overview

The Assassin’s Creed Valhalla DLCs expand the main game’s story. They introduce new areas and quests. Players should follow the release order for a smooth experience.

Wrath of the Druids

Released in May 2021, “Wrath of the Druids” takes players to Ireland. They explore Dublin, encounter the Druids, and unravel the mysteries of the Children of Danu. Players build new trading posts and forge alliances in Ireland.

The Siege of Paris

Following “Wrath of the Druids,” “The Siege of Paris” was released in August 2021. This DLC sends players to France to face Charles the Fat. The expansion focuses on the historical Siege of Paris. Players also continue battling the Order of the Ancients.

The Last Chapter

“The Last Chapter” is a poignant end to the Eivor saga. It includes quests like “The Raven and the Cuckoo” and “Last Goodbyes.” Players return to the England settlement of Ravensthorpe. It wraps up the storylines, offering closure to the journey of Eivor and their clan.